This is Texas and we love our guns. Texas has some of the most lenient laws when it comes to owning and carrying guns. It is legal to carry a concealed handgun in your car as long as you are not committing an offense above a Class C traffic violation, are not a member of a criminal street gang, and the weapon is concealed. If the none of the above listed exceptions apply, then the person could be charged with a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in the county jail and/or a fine up to $4,000.
If a person has a prior felony conviction or a charge for domestic violence that was not dismissed or the accused was not found guilty at trial, then it is illegal to possess a firearm. If a person with a prior felony conviction has been accused of possession a firearm outside their home or inside their home if it is within five years of the prior felony conviction, then they could be charged with the Third Degree felony offense of Felon in Possession of a Firearm punishable by a term of confinement in prison for a term of not less than 2 years and not more than 10 years.
Dustan Neyland has years of experience handling Weapons cases in Harris County, Montgomery County, and all across the State of Texas. If you have been accused of a Weapons case anywhere in the State of Texas, contact us today to schedule a free in-person consultation at our office in Kingwood, TX, conveniently located within a short drive from Houston, TX and Conroe, TX.
Contact us at (281) 312-0155 to schedule a free consultation.