Helped over 1,200+ Clients
A+ BBB Rating
A person may be charged with injury to a child when that person acts, or fails to act, and serious bodily injury or death occurs to a child. There are different levels of culpability, also known as mental states, which determine the level of the offense that a person may be charged. Depending on the allegations, you may be charged with a felony offense at the state jail level, which carries a punishment range of 180 days to 2 years in a state jail facility, a felony of the third degree, which carries a punishment range of 2 to 10 years in prison, a felony of the second degree, which carries a punishment range of 2 to 20 years in prison, or a felony of the first degree which carries a punishment range of 5 to 99 years in prison, or life.
In recent time, parents have been charged with injury to a child because they utilized corporeal punishment as a means of discipline. In Texas, it is an affirmative defense to a charge of injury to a child if the parent used reasonable force to discipline the child. If you have found yourself in a situation such as this, it is very important to retain an experienced and knowledgeable attorney to properly defend you. If not properly defended, you could not only lose your right to raise your child as you deem appropriate, but you could also find yourself being labeled a convicted felon, facing serious prison time.
Dustan Neyland has years of experience handling Injury to a Child cases in Harris County, Montgomery County, and all across the State of Texas. If you have been accused of Injury to a Child anywhere in the State of Texas, contact us today to schedule a free in-person consultation at our office in Kingwood, TX, conveniently located within a short drive from Houston, TX and Conroe, TX.
Contact us at (281) 312-0155 to schedule a free consultation.