Helped over 1,200+ Clients
A+ BBB Rating
Whenever a person is accused of setting fire to a building or other property, such as an automobile, they may be charged with the criminal offense of arson. Arson is a felony offense that may be charged as either a 1st, 2nd, or 3rd degree felony depending on the nature of the fire and if anyone was injured. The most typical charge for arson will be at the 2nd degree felony level which carries a maximum range of punishment of 2 to 20 years confinement in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice – Institutional Division and up to a $10,000 fine. A person charged and convicted of arson is eligible to receive probation by either a judge or a jury.
A person can be also charged with arson if they are accused of setting fire to their own property or having someone else set fire to their property if the property is insured or if there is a lien on the property. Sometimes accidental fires can have the appearance of being intentionally set. When arson investigators conduct a sloppy investigation that results in a homeowner being charged with arson, it is imperative to hire an attorney that has the experience to prepare an effective defense. The Law Offices of Dustan Neyland utilizes a network of experts that are trained in the filed of fire detection and investigation that can assist in the defense of a charge for arson.
Dustan Neyland has years of experience handling arson cases in Harris County, Montgomery County, and all across the State of Texas. If you have been accused of arson anywhere in the State of Texas, contact us today to schedule a free in-person consultation at our office in Kingwood, TX, conveniently located within a short drive from Houston, TX and Conroe, TX.
Contact us at (281) 312-0155 for a free consultation.