Helped over 1,200+ Clients
A+ BBB Rating
A charge of aggravated robbery can result from a variety of situations. Typically, anytime property is taken by force or threat and the accused uses a weapon, a charge of aggravated robbery will be filed.
Aggravated robbery is a first degree felony that carries a range of punishment from 5 to 99 years or life in prison and up to a $10,000 fine. Aggravated robbery is a crime classified as a 3g offense which requires that a person who is convicted and sentenced to prison must complete at least 50% of their sentence before they are eligible for parole. A person charged with aggravated robbery is eligible to receive a deferred adjudication with a guilty plea to a judge. However, only a jury can grant probation to a person who goes to trial and loses. In order for a jury to grant probation, the sentence assessed must be less than 10 years. Most District Attorney’s in jurisdictions across the State of Texas have a strict policy of refusing to offer any plea bargain short of a prison sentence. These cases will almost always result in either a trial by jury or an open plea to the judge where a hearing will be conducted after a pre-sentence investigation is completed by the county’s probation department. In an open plea to the judge, the accused must plead guilty and then is at the mercy of the Court. The judge may either grant a deferred adjudication or may sentence the accused to prison for a range of 5 to 99 years or life.
Dustan Neyland has years of experience handling aggravated robbery cases in Harris County, Montgomery County, and all across the State of Texas. If you have been accused of aggravated robbery anywhere in the State of Texas, contact us today to schedule a free in-person consultation at our office in Kingwood, TX, conveniently located within a short drive from Houston, TX and Conroe, TX.
Contact us at (281) 312-0155 for a consultation.